Monthly Archives: June 2012

Agricultural Economics Professor Barry Flinchbaugh Honored with Agriculture Future of America Award

Barry Flinchbaugh, professor of agricultural economics, has been selected as a 2012 Leader in Agriculture Award recipient by Agriculture Future of America (AFA).  Flinchbaugh and fellow 2012 recipient, Howard G. Buffett, will be recognized at the AFA Leader in Agriculture Award Dinner on November 2, 2012, at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center.

Flinchbaugh holds a B.S. in Animal Science and an M.S. in Agricultural Economics from Pennsylvania State University, as well as a Ph.D. in Agricultural Economics from Purdue University.  He has served Kansas State University as a faculty member for more than 41 years and has received numerous awards and distinctions for both his teaching and extension efforts, including the Outstanding Teacher Award from the K-State College of Agriculture on three different occasions.

A recognized leader in the agriculture industry, Flinchbaugh represents the agricultural community through his active participation in the development of United States agricultural policy. His service on numerous national task forces, boards of directors and advisory groups has allowed him to provide input on domestic food and agriculture policy.  Flinchbaugh also served as Chairman of the Commission on 21st Century Production Agriculture authorized in the 1996 Farm Bill.

The AFA Leader in Agriculture Award is presented annually to two outstanding individuals in the agriculture industry whose personal and professional accomplishments and contributions have served them in mentoring students to be successful leaders in their careers.  More information on AFA is available at